03
Oct
08

Redundancy

Today I couldn’t resist translating yet another of Ikzalwelgekzijn‘s entries, which I believe encapsulates a fundamental element of the Dutch psyche:

Redundancy

Yesterday I was watching an old episode of QI, and the question came up of what the main ingredient of air is. And my brain said nitrogen and my brain said stikstof, and then I spent a not insignificant amount of time trying to figure out whether they were, in fact, the same thing.

Implying that the same knowledge is stored in two different places, in two different languages.

How inefficient.


4 Responses to “Redundancy”


  1. 2 eugenenigeno
    3 October, 2008 at 10:44 am

    Hihi. Kan deze jouw goedkeuring wegdragen?

  2. 3 Tay
    26 October, 2008 at 9:13 am

    oh darling the most marvelous dutch man was in front of me in the queue at flinders st today. He said:

    “I bought this ticket. I want to go to the zoo for a few hours and then come back, i think i bought the wrong ticket”

    Man says: Yes that’s a two hour. You need a daily ticket.

    He says: “Ok so i can swap this for a daily ticket then.”

    Man says: No you can’t.

    He says: “So i just wasted $3.80 on this ticket? How inefficient!”

    I thought of you x


Leave a Reply

