13
Sep
08

Not for the faint-hearted

Yesterday I did a search on YouTube for animations of geometric dissections, my nerdy mathematical hobby. Of course there weren’t any to be found, but the search results did include a number of videos on autopsy, and me being the hopelessly curious person I am, I took the trouble to click through all the age verification checks and watch the autopsy videos.

Man, that was disgusting.

Those autopsy scenes in CSI where you have a rather banged-up, dishevelled and possibly discoloured (but otherwise completely intact) corpse lying on the bench and a well-spoken and considerate coroner who gently prods with delicate instruments looking for possible minute clues to abuse could not be more misleading. On YouTube there were bolt-cutters, pliers, a circular saw and knives of varying size and shape, which all left very little in their wake that was even reminiscent of anything resembling a corpse. They just cut that sucker up.

Surprisingly, the voiceover nevertheless said that the technique used still retained the possibility for an open-casket funeral, should the individual’s family desire. I fail to understand how this is possible.

All I can say is: I really hope I don’t die a suspicious death.


6 Responses to “Not for the faint-hearted”


  1. 1 pom
    14 September, 2008 at 8:07 am

    Just be nice to me then๐Ÿ™‚

  2. 3 Tay
    26 October, 2008 at 9:19 am

    I do anatomy next year you know. Not looking forward to cutting up a stiff.

    Anywho, the body is pretty well over-engineered. Your nerdy mind will appreciate the fact that our lungs are designed to allow more than 8 times the amount of oxygen that the body could ever possibly require…. that’s why people can smoke like chimneys for years and then go for a jog and drop dead because 7/8ths of their lungs are gone. Hmm.

    And I’d like to see you get through a sternum without some heavy artillery. Xx

  3. 4 Tay
    26 October, 2008 at 9:21 am

    …and I’m more than slightly amused that you included “dissection” as a search term without thinking twice!๐Ÿ˜€


Leave a Reply

