11
Aug
08

*sigh*

Recently I was sitting at an outside table at a drinking establishment, and I felt like ordering a Martini cocktail. So I asked the waitress if they had the appropriate triangle-shaped glasses, and her response was, “Hmm, I don’t know. I don’t think I’ve ever seen them here. But we don’t serve cocktails outside anyway, because then the bar would be too busy.” At this point I couldn’t decide what to be more angry about:

a) The fact that the waitress didn’t even know whether they had the glasses;
b) The fact that (in all probability) the bar didn’t have the glasses;
c) The fact that I wasn’t allowed to order a cocktail outside;
d) The reason that cocktails weren’t allowed outside was because the bar would get too busy (from this I surmised that she meant that it would take the staff too long to make the drinks, meaning that i) they would then sell less drinks, resulting in less turnover or ii) the bar staff are just too lazy), or
e) The fact that she dared tell me this reason to my face and expect me not to be furious.

I hate am constantly frustrated by hospitality in the Netherlands.


4 Responses to “*sigh*”


  1. 11 August, 2008 at 1:05 pm

    hospitality in the netherlands…haha. Yeah. I love how when you ask for something here, 9 times out of then the answer is something like, “Well, we don’t actually want your business.” And usually delivered with a “you should be ashamed of yourself for even asking” tone. And yet the cafes are still packed! gr.

  2. 3 brentusfirmus
    11 August, 2008 at 9:52 pm

    Lol

  3. 12 August, 2008 at 7:27 am

    So nice to know you’re a fan of the Martini – when I was your age I used to drink quite a lot of them. Unfortunately these days I can’t quite consume that much serious alcohol.
    Hope you’re keeping well … despite the lack of Martinis.


Leave a Reply

