27
Jun
08

Sampler Afghan

Although I have an account on Ravelry where I post all of my knitting triumphs, I keep forgetting that not everybody has a Ravelry account, and that some people therefore have no access to the pictures and stories I post there. Furthermore, my dad recently asked me to post some of the pictures of the afghan that I knitted for my mum for her 50th birthday last year. So, for all you non-Ravelers, here it is! The design is by Melissa Leapman, and comes from her book Cables Untangled. Here are the some of the best pictures I have of it, taken mostly at mum’s place last year:

The yarn is Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Chunky (in taupe). It was knit as 24 separate centre panels (sewn together into four larger rectangles) and then flanked by two additional panels along the long sides, after which I had to pick up stitches around the edge to knit the border. I worked on it over a 6-month period, and flew home to Australia to give it to mum on her birthday last November. It’s soooooo soft and heavy and yummy and squishy! There’s also a video of a very nervous me giving it to her on You Tube:

I’d have to say that this is without a doubt my greatest knitting achievement to date. Many thanks also go to Jantine, who inspired me to start the project and even knitted one of the panels and helped with the sewing at the end.


13 Responses to “Sampler Afghan”


  1. 1 Faye
    28 June, 2008 at 4:46 am

    Ohhhh, awesome….the Afghan perfect in every way, well done, commendable job, I am in awe of your professional workmanship. Perfect gift. Your mum has a part of you with her even when you aren’t there with her. She has the “perfect son.”

    The photo’s are great for detail, well done. The video, is priceless…made me cry. Your mum doesn’t look 50 by the way, (I’d kill to have her tiny figure again). You and your mum, so very lucky to have each other. She responded just as I would have in her position.

    Thank you for sharing that with us.

    Bless you Brent.

  2. 28 June, 2008 at 10:35 am

    Dearest Brent, what a lucky Mum you have. Lucky to have such a talented and loving son. Like Faye I too cried at the video (but then I’m just a big softie). When will we have the pleasure of your company in Melbourne again? Best wishes, Frank xxx

  3. 3 brentusfirmus
    28 June, 2008 at 11:40 am

    Hey Guys, thanks for the replies. Frank, I’ll be returning to Melbourne in the first week of December, to live until I get bored and have to leave again. You gonna cook me dinner?🙂

  4. 28 June, 2008 at 11:53 am

    This is such a sweet video, got tears in my eyes..
    Your mother must be very proud with such a son!

    Thanks for sharing!

  5. 29 June, 2008 at 1:15 am

    Well done once again Brent, and after a briliant night after our concert I must say I love you lots and will miss youe even more after you’ve gone here.

    Jantine

  6. 6 Faye
    29 June, 2008 at 1:50 am

    Hi Brent, …….Ah so you are from Melbourne as well…we live in the same city, small world. Australia awaits you, hopefully you wont get restless again too soon. Your family must be thrilled and very excited. Safe flying my friend. I’d love to meet you in person and learn some of your knitting and crochet skills, will never happen, but even I have my fantasies. Can’t get that afghan out of my head, unforgetable.

  7. 29 June, 2008 at 4:38 pm

    the best way I ever saw to overcome your own sorrow. you mastered the past…congratulations!

  8. 8 Faye
    30 June, 2008 at 3:00 am

    Quite a following. Very deserving. So close, yet soooo far away even when you do come home to Australia. Just be sure we can all still see your beautiful works of art.

  9. 30 June, 2008 at 11:40 am

    Oh wow! Now that’s impressive! And I think the video is the sweetest thing I’ve seen in a long while. It put a smile upon my face…
    PS. Looking forward to joining voices again in August! Lalalala!!

  10. 10 knittingunderwater
    30 June, 2008 at 10:45 pm

    Tiny Tears! Its a beautiful blanket, such workmanship! I’m sorry there will not be any more Dutch biking photos, but maybe some Australian ones?

  11. 7 July, 2008 at 1:00 pm

    Hey Brentus!

    That is an AWESOME piece you made for your mum! It’s nice to see how far you’ve taken the knitting because I remember you started out making hats for everyone at Fujitsu.

    I also watched the movie and it was great to see you “IRL”. I haven’t seen you or talked to you for soooooo long. I hope everything is alright with you!

    Hugs

    Maria (Eksten, well now it’s McMillan)

  12. 17 July, 2008 at 3:58 am

    That is such a beautiful afghan!

  13. 3 December, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    What a wonderful gift! The video made me cry as well….I think any mother would get tears in her eyes watching the two of you. How fabulous that you told her in words, as well as in deed, how much she means to you. I found you through Ravelry and will follow your blog.


Leave a Reply

