26
May
08

Even more Dutch bicycle action

In response to Stars’ reaction to the previous Dutch Bicycle Action post (and also due to the fact that I was bored this afternoon), today I decided to cycle around Utrecht looking for more examples of bizarre/interesting/noteworthy bicycle activity. I walked out of my front door and was immediately confronted with this:

Third Wheel

I have no idea what’s going on there, but this certainly gives new meaning to the term “third wheel”. Then I jumped on my own bike (the one behind) and started cycling around my neighbourhood. The next thing I noticed was these two identical bikes, nicely snuggled up against each other:

Lover bikes

Ain’t that sweet? And despite what you’d think, it’s actually not that common to see two bikes of the same brand and colour locked up together like that. Which is why I was extra surprised to find these:Twins

What are the odds? Or maybe it’s not that uncommon after all. Still, I think it’s cute. Cycling further, I chanced upon the following scene:

circus act

Sorry it’s so small and out of focus, but I had to act pretty fast to get this shot. It’s one girl riding a normal bike, with another standing up behind her on the rear baggage rack. Oh, and notice which direction that car in the background is driving in. Now I know that Dutch readers will be thinking “Come on, it’s just a couple of girls being silly”, but trust me, in Australia this would be a circus act.

I then headed into the centre of town to try to find some real hardcore bicycle action. I wasn’t disappointed:

Don\'t jump

This photo illustrates a) why the canals need to be trawled regularly for garbage, and b) why it is strongly recommended in the Netherlands to use two bike locks.


4 Responses to “Even more Dutch bicycle action”


  1. 1 Ronald
    26 May, 2008 at 12:45 pm

    The first two are not identical – they’re a boy and a girl bike! It’s quite common for couples to buy a pair of bikes like that. But then the bikes usually are of a decent quality and hence you won’t see them in the city too often.

  2. 26 May, 2008 at 2:25 pm

    LOVE IT!!! Keep em coming🙂

  3. 26 May, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    ok, I have to come back!

  4. 4 July, 2008 at 6:15 pm

    This one made me laugh.🙂
    I never really looked at bikes in my country this way.


Leave a Reply

