10
May
08

Frisson

Yesterday I had a knitting frisson. Here’s the skinny:

Hand-dyed sock yarnA couple of weeks ago, we had a sock-yarn dyeing day at Jantine‘s (Lisa was there too). We used several different methods to dye the wool, from simply mixing a dye bath of a solid colour and throwing in the skein, to dipping sections of an ultra-long skein in different baths, to putting the skein in first and then adding different dyes to see what would happen. This last method was pretty scary to me, being a control freak and all, but I did it anyway and this was the result (the ball on the right). I was tempted to call it my “vomit” colourway, or “pizza” or something, I just thought it looked so random and retro… but Jantine was crazy about it, so I trusted her good judgment and decided not to incinerate it just yet.

Now to part 2: Recently M. of the DomCantorij turned 36, and therefore a birthday present was in order. I had been to Cologne and picked up some skeins of sock yarn there, including the purple one in the photo below.Cologne sock yarn She said she liked the colour, and when I showed her the Monkey Socks by Cookie A., she was delighted. I decided I would knit M. a pair of purple monkey socks.

But then I thought: nah. The purple was too diffuse to do justice to the pattern, so I went over to M’s with a bag full of other options, one of them my vomit yarn. She had conniptions when she saw it, and I started to think that maybe the short colour segments in that yarn would actually show off the pattern quite well. So I started knitting yesterday, and… I think the result is just amazing. This is going to be the best ever pair of socks I’ve ever knit, and I’m so happy Brent\'s Monkeysthat M. is going to be the one to wear them!

.

.

.

.

.

.


4 Responses to “Frisson”


  1. 1 Faye
    11 May, 2008 at 12:42 am

    You’re too hard on yourself, loved it before you began knitting it, knew it would knit up well. Just tell yourself it’s OK to play, experiment, try new ideas…what’s the worst that can happen? Let’s face it if all goes badly you just dye again a darker colour.

  2. 11 May, 2008 at 1:27 am

    that’s rad to the max about the barf yarn!

  3. 12 May, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    heh heh, you had me look up frisson and conniptions!

  4. 13 May, 2008 at 1:36 am

    Hey Brent, just wanted to say I love the fact that you love knitting so much. You are AWESOME. So looking forward to seeing you when you’re back in Oz!!


Leave a Reply

