23
Apr
08

Lost in translation

Yesterday at work, at around 16:45, the Dutch Ministry of Housing, Spatial Planning and the Environment (VROM) called and wanted 220 words translated for that day. So I got to translate it – it was kind of fun, the topic was the Geotruck, a kind of mobile video-gaming bus offering climate education to secondary schools. So I translated at top speed and today, there it was.

Just thought some of you might be interested in what it is I do all day.

Random quote:

There are two great tragedies in life. One is not getting your heart’s desire; the other is to get it.”
– (Was this Oscar Wilde?)


6 Responses to “Lost in translation”


  1. 24 April, 2008 at 3:56 am

    TAG … You’re it!! See my blog for details.

    ~mz

    PS — i LOVE your knitted spheres. can’t wait to try one!

  2. 2 pom
    24 April, 2008 at 9:26 am

    Or was it G.B. Shaw?

  3. 24 April, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    If the top results of my Google search can be at all trusted, the original quote is Shaw’s, but Wilde added the very Wildeian “The last is much the worst”.
    PS. Am I right in thinking that the reply on your previous random quote is very Pom-ian? Or is that just me?

  4. 4 brentusfirmus
    24 April, 2008 at 2:55 pm

    Why yes… 10 points to the hairy guy!

  5. 5 mum
    28 April, 2008 at 3:19 am

    WHETHER,IT Was George or oscar it was worth repeating. Luv me.

  6. 6 Suzanne
    27 May, 2008 at 12:08 am

    You know that my best friend named Femke actually wrote all the info for the schoolkids on that bus! That’s because she’s a brilliant geologist… As I would be if I hadn’t decide to do change studies after 3 years…


Leave a Reply

