31
Mar
08

Clogging?

Hey y’all. Boy, am I exhausted today – don’t know what hit me. Rehearsal was a real strain, I was really pooped after only having sung the cantus firmus of the Tallis Loquebantur, my voice was somewhere off in la-la land. So I’ll be quick tonight. I just wanted to make a quick entry about…

Clogging.

While I was on Ravelry, I came across this user (sorry, if you’re not already registered on Ravelry you won’t be able to access that profile) who described himself as a ‘clogging instructor’. This piqued my interest, and so I visited a few sites on the subject. From what I can gather, clogging is a type of folk dancing that resembles a cross between Irish dancing (i.e. Riverdance) and tap. Then I found this video on YouTube:

These guys are totally hot! And then I found this one:

The way they move, I think they all resemble 8-bit computer game characters. And at 0:21, the girl in front on the left kind of floats backward across the stage. Funky stuff.

I was also disappointed that none of this seemed to have anything to do with the Netherlands, which you might expect from the clog reference. Perhaps they only got around to inventing the clog, and left the dancing to other people(s).

Quote of the day:

“I can play woodblock, I’m really good at keeping time. Have you noticed I’m always on time?”
“No, I think punctuality is a little different from actual rhythm.”

Here here.


2 Responses to “Clogging?”


  1. 1 Frank
    31 March, 2008 at 10:43 pm

    I thought Ravelry might be a site appreciating the glorious music of one Maurice Ravel – how surprised was I?

    (Not very.)

  2. 2 Lisa
    1 April, 2008 at 8:45 am

    heehee!

    I thought of that AD quote last night as I was running a dreadful 15 minutes late to the Bijbelkring (yes, everyone was punctual. yes, it was awkward.).

    i had a medewerker in undergrad who was a clog dancer. Apparently it’s big in Indiana.


Leave a Reply

