30
Mar
08

Daylight savings

Hello hello! Today I slept in until 12:30 (which I guess is really only 11:30), and boy do I feel overslept! So I only have nice things planned for today, namely knitting and Arrested Development with Lisa, (who also has a blog) and possibly dinner with Michiel.

The last few days have been pretty busy. I babysat a 12-year-old on Thursday whose father sadly committed suicide around a month ago. He’s really into chess at the moment, but can’t find any suitable opponents to play against, so we played two games and I gave him a run for his money. He’s good, just needs to stop making rash moves out of frustration. In the second game I check-mated him with only a rook and a knight. All he had let were pawns and the king. He put up a good fight.

Friday I sang at the wedding of one of the members of the DomCantorij, the choir where I sing here in Utrecht. Getting married is kinda weird in the Netherlands: church marriages are not recognised by the State, so even if you get married in a church, you still have to go to the registry office and sign something to say you’re actually married. The service was an actual full-on church service, with hymns, a collection and a sermon (but no communion). We sang movements 1, 4 and 12 of the big Te Deum by Mendelssohn, and the conductor was so impressed he decided to programme the whole piece for an upcoming concert on 10 May. Yaaaaaaay Mendelssohn!

Saturday we had a concert in the cathedral, a programme of Spanish and Dutch renaissance music relating to Mary (since she got knocked up this week). We sang Guerrero, Victoria and Lassus, plus the organist provided for some Frescobaldi and Sweelinck on the harpsichord for good measure. The conductor had tried to get us to approximate something resembling mean-tone tuning, but I’m not sure how successful that actually was. I was lowering all my fifths and major thirds etc., but did run into some resistance now and then. Perhaps that was for the best.

After the concert, I went back to Jantine‘s house to celebrate her husband Mick’s birthday. I collapsed on the couch, ate whatever food was placed in front of me, and once all the other guests had gone home, attempted a tubular sock cast-on. And it worked! A tubular cast-on avoids the bunched-up look of a regular cast-on, and makes it appear as if the stitches travel up and over the cast-on edge, back down the other side. This is because they actually do. Normally this cast-on is made using a piece of waste yarn in addition to the actual yarn, and requires you to transfer the open stitches at a later stage, but Jantine has this great sock book that showed me how to do it without using the waste yarn. Much less hassle, and also much more clever! As I said in my last post, I’m all about saving time these days.

Ok, now I’m off to Lisa’s for knitting and DVDs. Before I go, one last photo of my new laptop:

Isn’t she pretty?


3 Responses to “Daylight savings”


  1. 1 Arja
    2 April, 2008 at 10:39 am

    I suppose we look at Dutch weddings the other way around: we get married at the Gemeentehuis first, and -if we wish to do so- this is followed by a church service in which we ask for God’s blessing on our marriage.

    heh heh, Mary having gotten knocked up this week sounds soooo much better when you grew up in a rather conservative protestant family.

  2. 2 Frank
    3 April, 2008 at 5:34 am

    Surely in mean tone tuning you should raise the fifths and minor thirds and lower the major thirds …
    Just my two cents worth.

  3. 3 Brentusfirmus
    3 April, 2008 at 7:52 am

    Hmmm, now that I think about it, yes you’re right. Those were also our instructions regarding major and minor thirds, but our conductor did ask us to lower the fifths. I think he just has a penchant for narrower fifths…


Leave a Reply

