21
Nov
06

Bored at work

So, the National Museum of the Netherlands neglected to send the text I was supposed to translate, and consequently I’ve just spent the last 3 hours here at work translating information on baby formula and breastfeeding for the Nutricia brand of baby formula. I simply can’t explain how thrilling that was. Oh wait, that’s because it wasn’t.

And now I’m sitting here with nothing to do, so I thought I’d put up a post to kill some time. Officially I do have work to do, but that deadline’s in December and I’m buggered if I’m going to spend my last hour before my day off getting deep into a 4000-line project that I won’t be able to continue until next week anyway.

Actually I did a rather interesting translation this morning, it was about an art exhibition of items that had been stolen from Jews in the Netherlands during the WWII and that never found their way back to their rightful owners. I was only translating the photo captions for the exhibition brochure, but one of the pictures was of Hitler giving Göring a painting as a birthday present. The photo looked really boring at first sight, but when you realised that the painting Göring was being given had been stolen from some people who were in all probability already dead at the time, Göring’s childish smile and Hitler’s self-satisfied expression began to look quite eerie. Although, I imagine that Hitler looking self-satisfied would always appear quite eerie, not only at birthday parties.

My, how time flies. Home time! I’m off to stitch and bitch tonight, socks socks socks!!


1 Response to “Bored at work”


  1. 1 Nederlass
    21 November, 2006 at 11:03 pm

    Socks socks socks baby! Thanx again for teaching me the two-in-one-go method. Utter bliss, alright!😉
    Btw, tried to comment to your knitblog, but that didn’t fly.

    Great meeting you, see ya next week.

    M to the J.


Leave a Reply

