03
Oct
11

Rapidity

Rapidity (Hella Haasse, 1918-2011)

In this wide ocean that I chose for me,
I lie here drowning endlessly,
Deep on its bed, devoid of will,
The waters that surround me, still.

Inside a cell, with walls that none can see
Impounded, far from tempest, free
From gale and flood – my heart doth yearn
To be the sailing, swooping tern,

A glitt’ring fish, a-darting through the sea.
But like a dull anemone
That bobs and floats in water’s gloom,
And silently awaits its doom,

I stand here, rooted in accursed peace,
No ebb or flow to grant release,
Deep on the bed, devoid of will.
The waters that surround me, still.

 

Stroomversnelling

In deze zeeën die ik mij verkoos,
lig ik verdronken, eindeloos
diep op den bodem, zonder wil.
Het water boven mij staat stil.

Zo ben ik in een transparanten doos
geklonken, ver van storm en hoos
stortzee en vloed – mijn hart doet pijn,
het wil een snelle zeemeeuw zijn,

een zil’vren vis, beweeg’lijk in den stroom.
Maar als een anemoon, die loom
op donker water wiegt en deint
en aan het eigen spel verkwijnt,

sta ik geworteld in vervloekte rust,
van tij noch keertij mij bewust,
diep op den bodem zonder wil.
Het water boven mij staat stil.

1 Response to “Rapidity”


  1. 1 Susan Huxley
    1 December, 2011 at 9:22 pm

    HI Brent. I’m curating a show of knit and crochet art that have a science/math theme. Your Knitted Kaleidocycles caught my eye. Can you email me ASAP? I’d like to talk with you about including it in the show “Sticks, Hooks, and the Mobius: Knit and Crochet Go Cerebral,” Jan 8–Feb 5 at Laffayete College in Easton, PA. There’s no fee. You can sell your work at the high-end educational gallery or mark it NFS. I’d doing the floor plan this week.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

